November 16, 2022

Attn. Brent Larmer
Director, Legislative Services & Municipal Clerk
Town of Cobourg

Re: Governance and Appointments Discussion

Dear Brent,

Mayor Elect Lucas Cleveland and I met on November 7, 2022, as the Striking Committee per the procedural by-law. At this meeting we discussed Council Coordinator Appointments and Council Appointments to Committees, Boards and Working Groups.

The Striking Committee recommends that the following appointments be made at Inauguration on November 15, 2022:

- Northumberland County Council Mayor Lucas Cleveland
- Northumberland County Council Alternate Deputy Mayor Nicole Beatty

The Striking Committee recommends that the following action be discussed by the 2022-2026 term of Cobourg Council at a Special Council Meeting, which Mayor Cleveland will call for Monday, November 28th at 6pm:

WHEREAS the Town of Cobourg is currently undertaking a Governance Structure Review that could advise of changes to the current governance model of a Committee of the Whole Coordinator Role System as described in Section 9 of the Procedural By-Law 009-2019;

AND WHEREAS a Governance Structure Review is an outcome of the 2018-2022 Service Delivery Review conducted by KPMG with recommendations approved by Municipal Council through resolution #453-21;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT Sections 4.4, 9.3 and 9.4 of the Procedural By-Law, which requires Council to appoint Council Service Coordinators and Alternates, and describes the coordinator functions at the Committee of the Whole Meeting, be suspended until the Governance Structure Review has gone through due process, including public engagement and approval by Council;

AND FURTHER THAT no Council appointments be made to Advisory Committees in the interim until the review and recommendations of Municipal Staff on the potential creation, amendment or dissolution of Advisory Committees;

AND FURTHER THAT Council appoints the following Council representatives to various Committees and Boards:

Committee/Board	Council Representative(s)	Council Alternate(s)
Town of Cobourg Holdings Inc.	Mayor Lucas Cleveland	
Northam Industrial Park	Mayor Lucas Cleveland	
	Deputy Mayor Nicole Beatty	

Cobourg Police Services Board	Deputy Mayor Nicole Beatty	
	(Mayor's appointee)	
	Councillor Adam Bureau	
Audit Committee	Mayor Lucas Cleveland	
	Deputy Mayor Nicole Beatty	
	Councillor Brian Darling	
Cobourg DBIA Board	Deputy Mayor Nicole Beatty	
Community Physician and	Councillor Randy Barber	
Recruitment & Retention		
Committee		
Water Quality Accountability	Councillor Miriam Mutton	
Liaison Committee	Councillor Brian Darling	
Ganaraska Region Conservation	Councillor Miriam Mutton	
Authority Board	Councillor Randy Barber	
Community Emergency	Councillor Brian Darling	
Management Program	Councillor Adam Bureau	
Committee		
Cobourg Library Board	Councillor Aaron Burchat	
Art Gallery of Northumberland	Councillor Aaron Burchat	
Board		

AND FURTHER THAT Council reconsiders these Committee and Board appointments as necessary upon the completion and implementation of the Governance Structure Review in early 2023.

Please note that the Striking Committee is meeting individually with each Councillors Elect on Monday, November 14th to discuss the proposed suspension of Council Coordinator Appointments and the priority Committees and Boards needing Council representation as listed above.

Lucas and I welcome your feedback and any recommendations that you can provide. We would also appreciate if you could prepare a one-pager about the Committees and Boards that we can present to Councillors Elect during our one-to-one meetings.

Kindly advise if the Striking Committee has overlooked anything that needs to be included in this presentation.

Sincerely,

Deputy Mayor Elect Nicole Beatty, Striking Committee Member

Cc: Mayor Elect Lucas Cleveland, Striking Committee Member