

The Corporation of The Town of Cobourg Strategic Priorities and Policy Standing Committee Minutes

Tuesday, February 6, 2024 1:00 p.m. Council Chambers, Victoria Hall, Cobourg

Members Present: Chair Deputy Mayor Nicole Beatty

Mayor Lucas Cleveland Councillor Aaron Burchat Councillor Adam Bureau Councillor Miriam Mutton Councillor Randy Barber Councillor Brian Darling

Staff Present: Ellard Beaven, Fire Chief

Brian Geerts, Director of Community Services

Brent Larmer, Municipal Clerk/Director of Legislative Services Kristina Lepik, Deputy Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services Anne Taylor Scott, Director of Planning and Development

Services

Tracey Vaughan, Chief Administrative Officer

Laurie Wills, Director of Public Works

Staff Present Virtually: Adam Giddings, Director of Corporate Services/Treasurer

1. Call to Order

Chair Deputy Mayor Nicole Beatty called the Meeting to Order at 1:04 p.m.

2. Traditional Land Acknowledgement

The Town of Cobourg respectfully acknowledge that we are located in the traditional and treaty territory of the Michi Saagiig (Mississauga) and Chippewa Nations, collectively known as the Williams Treaties First Nations, which include: Curve Lake, Hiawatha, Alderville, Scugog Island, Rama, Beausoleil, and Georgina Island First Nations.

The Town of Cobourg respectfully acknowledge that the Williams Treaties First Nations have been stewards and caretakers of these lands and waters, and that today remain vigilant over their health and integrity for generations to come. We are all Treaty people.

3. Introduction of Addendum Items

None

4. Confirmation of Agenda

4.1 Confirmation of the February 6, 2024, Strategic Priorities and Policy Standing Committee Agenda

Moved By Councillor Randy Barber Seconded By Councillor Aaron Burchat

That the Committee confirm the agenda, as circulated.

Carried

5. Disclosure of Pecuniary (Financial) Interest

There were no Declarations of Pecuniary Interest from Members of Council.

6. Community Announcements

None

7. Delegations

None

8. Outside Presentation / Information from Advisory Committees or Task Forces

None

9. Consent Agenda

Moved By Councillor Aaron Burchat **Seconded By** Councillor Brian Darling

THAT the Committee adopt the following recommendations contained within the staff report on the consent agenda as a single motion and refer to Regular Council for final approval:

9.1 Report No. LS-2024-006 from the Grant and Policy Writer regarding the Public Conduct Policy

THAT Council receive this report for information purposes; and

FURTHER THAT Council approve the Town of Cobourg Public Conduct Policy to ensure a consistent approach to respond to unacceptable behaviour on Town properties.

Carried

10. Items Extracted from Consent Agenda

None

11. Notice of Motion

None

12. Departmental Updates/Discussion

Directors provided information and updates to the Committee and the Public on Divisional areas.

13. Adjournment

Chair Deputy Mayor Nicole Beatty called for adjournment at the completion of all items on the Council Agenda at 1:47 p.m.